Queries, Queries, Queries, oh my!

I love waking up a rejection in my inbox. Not that I’m complaining, a form rejection is much nicer than an in-your-face audition rejection. I especially love the, “you would be wonderful for this part, you’re very talented, but you’re just too tall.”

Who would have thought 5’5 was too tall, but it is. 

Today I’m going to try and send a few more out. I really need to find a better way to streamline finding an agent beyond the ones I already queried. I’d like to get my hands on the new 2010 book of publishers, agents, etc, but I havent made my way to Borders in a while.

What drives me crazy is the people who don’t know how hard it is to try and find an agent for your work. They clearly don’t understand the process of researching agents, what they like, what they don’t, what the agencies submission guidelines are, etc. Sure, you can submit to any agent under the sun, but who are you helping? Definitely not me. I’m sure agents are annoyed with people submitting everything and anything they want without looking at the agents specialties or what their list consists of for that matter. Granted, the equerry world is fabulous, I wonder if it helps us more, or hurts us. Queries probably grew like crazy since emailing queries began.  

YA writers and aspiring YA authors, check out this blog post by Scott Eagan, it’s great!

 http://scotteagan.blogspot.com/2010/02/young-adult-does-not-mean-immature.html

 Until tomorrow! 

Ciao~

Leave a Reply

