Best I’ll Ever Be…

Playlist: Sister Hazel Live album all day.

It’s been an interesting 24 hours. I awoke to a full request for my manuscript waiting in my inbox. Of course, I was beyond thrilled. I hurried to prepare it and sent it off. Minutes later I received a confirmation email. Needless to say, I was pumped. 

Then, a few hours later another email came in, from another agent interested in seeing the manuscript, the kicker? She wants me to cut it from 90k to 50k, that’s almost half. She was really sweet, stating she enjoyed my writing, and the story, but would only be interested in reading it in its entirety if I made the cuts. I fumbled with the thought, and decided to jump on the water cooler and ask other writers what they thought. As I suspected, they thought it was strange. I could see if she read the entire manuscript and then asked me to cut, but she hasn’t. 

One writer suggested I ask her reasoning behind the cuts, which is valid. I guess she just may not be the right agent for this project. I’ll let you know what unfolds. Keep your fingers crossed either way! 

I’m skipping my COLLIDE quote of the day, and instead, I’m posting amazing lyrics by Sister Hazel.

 Best I’ll Ever Be, by Sister Hazel

Oh I miss you
I miss being overwhelmed by you
And I need rescue
I think I’m fading away 

But I keep thinking, that you’ll wake me up with a whisper in my ear
I keep hoping that you’ll sneak in my room 

So I wait, and I wait
And I run old scenes through my tired head
of the days that we laid by the school and said forever
Was that the best I’ll ever be? 

Oh I miss you, I miss talking all night long with you yeah
And I need this to find a way to your home
Oh, my love can you hear me?
Have I been hoping loud enough? Wishing hard enough?
Can you see me when I’m asleep all alone, alone? 

I can’t keep my hands from shaking
I’m stumbling through the wreckage again, but you’re gone 

So I wait, and I wait, and I run myself in the same old circles
I sit and I stare And I run old scenes through my tired head
of the days that we laid on our backs and said forever
Oh was that the best I’ll ever be?

 

Go listen to that song, it’s amazing. If you haven’t done so already, please follow me on twitter at angel_francis.

Ciao~
Angela Francis

Leave a Reply

