I’m Ready….

So you completed your manuscript, now what?

Today’s Playlist:
I’m Ready, by Jack’s Mannequin
Butterflies and Hurricanes, by Muse
Failure by Design, by Brand New
Bruised and Scarred, by Mayday Parade
Dance Sucka, by Radiohead
Carissa’s Weird, by Iron and Wine

 

It always makes me laugh when people say, the quickest way to become rich and/or famous to write a book. There’s something in that sentence that irks me. One, they obviously don’t realize how much hard work it takes to write a full length novel, let alone the steps it takes to publish it. Nothing is “easy”, there’s never a “easy in” or everyone would be famous. And if we all were, then it wouldn’t be special, or a “dream”.

 So, you’ve completed a mass of pages, compiled into a story. In your mind, if you’re new, the hardest part is over, right? Wrong. You are just getting started. First, you need to have your manuscript polished. Not only completed, and well written, but you should have someone read through it. Make sure you pick someone who knows grammar, punctuation, etc. That person should read through and critic the story. Should something be changed? Does it all make sense? It there anything pointless written? 

It’s easy to think your writing is flawless, and the story makes perfect sense, and nothing is dull within it. But that isn’t the case. After I completed COLLIDE, my mother read it. Afterward, we sat down and discussed the story, what made sense, what didn’t, etc. From there, I went through and edited my work. I added scenes, deleted some, and all around made changes. From there I asked someone else to read it, then another person, until I felt I had enough opinions to really creating something deeper. 

I turned COLLIDE, at that time it was named something else, from a 500 (word doc) page manuscript, into four novels, and 90,000 words. At that point, I found Laura, with Flying Pig Communications. I am horrible when it comes to grammar. Seriously, I must have missed that in school, because my grammar and punctuation stink. Anyways, Laura edited and polished my manuscript. But despite everything, whenever I pull up my manuscript, I change something. It’s pretty horrible, lol. But that proves, once again, that even though you finally finish, until the book is on the shelf, published, it’s never really complete. 

In this series, we’ll talk about completing your manuscript, writing query letters, and the steps to take, to find the right agents to query. 

Next…..well, you’ll just have to come back and see. 

In COLLIDE news, first full practice with Madison and Lucas is tonight. be prepared to be amazed with these two. 

Have a great weekend and happy mothers day! 

Ciao~
Angela

2 thoughts on “I’m Ready….

  1. I was really happy to see your post because it’s so true! I think people who don’t write seem to think you can sit down and just type out a perfect first draft, which you’ll then get published and turned into a movie. And viola! You’re rich and famous.

    Maybe that’s how it works for some people, but I know for my first novel, I finished my rough draft, then worked on fixing it up for a few months until I thought it was done, and I had my cousin read it. After listening to her comments, I worked on it for several more months and had someone else read it, thinking it was done. Repeat. It ended up taking me about a year and a half of revisions, and even now that I’m at the point where I’m querying agents for it, someone in my critique group spotted a problem with one of the earlier chapters. So, you’re right–until that sucker is published and on the shelf, there’s always going to be something I can probably change on it.

    It’s nice to know you went through a similar thing with your book, but I’m hoping I don’t end up splitting mine into four separate novels. 🙂 I can’t imagine how much work that must have been! I read somewhere that Tamora Pierce’s Alanna series started out as one book written for adults, but her agent recommended she split it into four and market them for young adults, so I guess it happens more often than you’d think. Good luck, and happy writing!

  2. I hear it all the time, and it’s infuriating. Lol. My manuscript is YA as well. I split it into four, because there was a lot of meat and enough to split, and elaborate more. I rather like it split up. At first, I was completely against it, but the more I work on it, the more I enjoy getting to be with the character more. I’m in the same boat as you, query letter after query letter. If people only knew the process, they would eat their words. Haha. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

