Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles

Nothing has been the same since Caleb Becker left a party drunk and crashed into Maggie Armstrong. One year later, both teenagers have become outsiders in their small community. Pigeon-holed as “criminal” and “freak,” Caleb and Maggie end up finding comfort and strength from a surprising source: each other.

Changing between Maggie and Caleb’s point of views, Leaving Paradise was a slow read. In fact, a book that length usually took me less than a day to pound through. Instead, I shuffled through it for a week or so, bored and not pulled in. I did like Caleb’s point of view though. I enjoyed Ms. Reynolds, and how she forces Caleb and Maggie to face their demons.

Simone does an amazing job creating sympathy for both Caleb and Maggie. I never really saw him as a bad guy. I wanted him to have peace, and still hope he finds it.

Despite not being too crazy about this book, I will read the sequel. The way it ended wasn’t how I wanted it to, but I guess that’s the point, right? To make me come back for more? I’d recommend this one for you to read and make your mind about.

What did you think?

Ciao
Angela Francis

Next Book review….Nothing Like You by Lauren Strasnick

Leave a Reply

