Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

PARANORMALCY by Kiersten White

Evie’s always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals’ glamours.

But Evie’s about to realize that she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal

 

 

Firstly, I’ll say, this was a bleeping amazing book!! From the second you crack the spine, the opening line hooks you in. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I bought Paranormalcy. Getting the book wasn’t too easy. Borders had two copies, which they couldn’t find, but I HAD to read it, and I had to read it right away.

I wasn’t sure why I was so excited, maybe because it’s Kiersten White’s debut, and as a writer, that holds a soft spot in my heart. And secondly, she has an awesome agent and publisher, plus a killer cover? It screams bleeping awesomeness.

Anyways.

From the first tagging, I knew I was reading something special. The imagery is captivating. The characters are stunning. I fell for Lend from the beginning, and found him to be a breath of fresh air in a world obsessed with vampires and werewolves.  This book was written with such creativity, such imagination, it’s truly one of a kind.

Instantaneously, Paranormalcy became the best young adult book I’ve read. I love how real Evie is, how she aches for a normal life, and how she is so confident. Some might say she’s foolish, but to me, she’s fearless. Reth and the faeries were so vivid. White portrays faeries unlike the world sees them. No longer sassy and Tinkerbell-like, White’s view of faeries has me stating that faeries will be the new vampire. Trust me, they are bleeping awesome and wicked.

White ends it perfectly. I hope there’s a sequel.

I highly recommend this book. It’s the best young adult book I’ve ever read. With that being said, if you haven’t already, go out and buy it!! Support new authors, especially ones as awesome as Kiersten White!!

Did you read Paranormalcy? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Leave a Reply

