Behind the Scenes Interview

I am not a big fan of country music, but LOVE this song. It’s so summery. 

Recently my critique partner/best friend extraordinaire was interviewed on what it was like to work with me. For those of you who don’t know, Steph is my right hand and the loud devil yelling at me on my shoulder as I write. She basically has her nose in my writing from the first sentence to the last. From idea to published. Hilarious and fiesty, we have way too much fun talking about characters like they are real life people.

The interview as a hole wasn’t used, only pieces for an article on me. So I decided to share it so the world could see how amazing she is. Hence why FORGET ME NOT is dedicated to her.

stephanie

This is Stephanie & her adotable daughter (who is betrothed to my son haha)

What is your favorite part about working with Angela’s writing? Getting to be the first one to read it. I get to see the raw unedited mess that it is before she works her magic on it and makes it become something incredible. I go through and give my opinion on what should stay or go. I get to read parts and literally cry over things that happen. I have so many favorites about working with her, but I think my favorite is that I get to work with my very best friend, how many people get to say that?

Can you still enjoy the books as a reader? How? Yes, without a doubt. Each time  I find something new. There is so much imagination behind what she writes, it’s amazing.

What’s the biggest thing you and Angela have ever butted heads over? The guys! While I love both Wolf and Jaxson, I have moments where I love one over the other and I want her to do what I want—not what Ange does. I get so heated talking boys. It’s to the point now, where before she send me chapters, I ask her if I’m going to be mad and if I’ll want to punch her in the throat or not. It’s one of our running jokes now.

So you say you fight about boys, set the record straight for us, Team Wolf or Team Jaxson? What about Angela, what team do you think she’s on? Team Jax, because Wolf pissed me off. Ange will forever be a Wolf girl. 

How did your partnership come about? Well having the role of “best friend” has it’s perks. Haha.  After the first book was out, she asked me to read the second book, FORGET ME NOT, as she wrote. One thing turned into another and I ended up taking on many hats way beyond reading. I loved the fact that she wanted me to help her with something that I knew was important to her. She trusted me with something that means a lot to her, knowing I would be brutally honest. And I am brutally honest!!! When it sucks, I tell her.

How have you seen the books evolve over time?  I’ve seen the rough drafts all the way to the finished product. Before helping her with this I really didn’t know much about the process and what all writers had to do just to get their amazing thoughts and ideas out on paper. I mean she would send me something to look over then maybe 20 minutes later tell me she changed what I just read. There were times when I would tell her WHY??? What you had was already so good. But then I would read the rewrite and it was better. I’ve come to think of the characters as people I know. They have come alive for me and I will talk to Ange about them like they are family. We sometimes get into heated debates over them, which is hilarious.

What are your hopes for the future of the books?  I WANT MORE. I always tell her she should do more than a trilogy. She has so many ideas and so much imagination, she could write more books. We have discussed different things about where the books will go and what she could do with the ideas in the future.

What would you say you have had the greatest influence over in the “Forgotten Fairytale” series? I think being brutally honest with her about what I liked or didn’t like in the books. If I think there were things that she could’ve done differently or worded differently, I’ll tell her. Sometimes she’d change them and sometimes she’d read it to me and I would be like “oh ok I see what you mean.” Also, there are several inside jokes sprinkled throughout the book. Things we say jokingly with one another and with our other friend, Sarah, she’ll take and put them in the book, just as a shout out to us. It’s nice to read something and be like, “oh wow I said that” or I did that, and she put it in her book. That’s so awesome.

If you had to pick one scene from the series, which is your favorite? Book One Chapter Nineteen is my favorite. Besides what is happening between her and Wolf, I love the imagery of the snowflies, how beautiful they are and how there is nothing but an ice lake and beautiful white snow all around. Snow is my favorite and the scene…it’s tragically beautiful.
Can you tell us anything about book 3? What’s going to happen with Norah after the crazy cliff hanger at the end of Forget Me Not?   SPOILER ALERT, DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN’T READ BOOK 2I cried right off the bat, it’s really good, you won’t be disappointed. As far as Norah, I mean she’s just seen someone she loves be killed in front of her and then to turn and kill someone, so that’s got to weigh heavy on her. But I can say  she’s a fighter and she’ll get through this because she’s stronger than she knows. 
Hope you enjoyed this interview as much as I did!!
20821763
I will be having a super awesome giveaway coming up with a chance to win a FREE PAPERBACK of The Forgotten Fairytales. NOW this isn’t just ANY paperback. I went through this copy with a pretty pink pen and spilled all my secrets-characters who are named after people I know, things that I put in the book that actually happened to me, etc. I let you in on all the good stuff. It will be like reading it with me sitting next to you and reading over your shoulder, but without my hot breath in your ear.
Keep your eye out for that giveaway!!
Happy HUMP day!!!
Ciao,
Angela
One thought on “Behind the Scenes Interview

Leave a Reply

